Who We Are

Mission Statement

The Derby Historical Society, Inc. is a regional historical society dedicated to preserving, maintaining, and celebrating the rich and varied history of the Lower Naugatuck River Valley.

Meet the Staff

Executive Director

Kellie Santiago

Kellie holds a BA in Communications from Elizabethtown College and has more than 15 years of experience in communications, marketing and event planning. She has previously worked for both CBS and NBC News affiliates, the CT Breast Health Initiative, the CdLS Foundation, Basement Systems, Inc. (now known as Contractor Nation), TEAM Inc. and Hidden Acres Therapeutic Riding Center. Kellie grew up in the valley and is happy to be back home, raising her twins.


President - Albert Misiewicz, Jr., Derby

Vice President - Jim Gildea, Derby

Secretary - Dorothy Gleason, Beacon Falls

Recording Secretary - Paul Dinice, Derby

Treasurer - Cyndi Poppa, Bethany

Board of Directors

Stephan Behuniak - Seymour

Christine Boulay - Ansonia

John Caporale

Joseph DiRienzo - Pennsylvania

Mark Goumas - Oxford

Donna Lindgren - Ansonia


Robert Novak - Shelton

Paul Simpson - Shelton

Rick Schreiner - Derby

Board Emeritus

Judith Augusta, Shelton

Elaine Brandon - Seymour

David Carver, Ansonia

Joy Donini, Orange

Katharine Fitzgerald, Seymour

Barbara Jean Garofalo, Derby

Joan Giardina, Ansonia

Kevin Henri, Derby

Joanna Holden, Woodbridge

Laurence Howe, Orange

Carolyn Ivanoff, Oxford

William McDonald, Shelton

William Miller, Jr., Oxford

Lorraine O'Callaghan, Ansonia

Marian O'Keefe, Seymour

Kevin O'Mara, Monroe

Regina Pagliaro, Shelton

Cynthia Poppa, Bethany

Randal Ritter, Derby

Wanda Sedor, Ansonia

Janis Yakimovich, Derby

Adivsory Board

Peter Burns, Hamden

William Miller, Jr., Oxford

Felicia Monaco, Derby

Marian O'Keefe, Seymour

Randal Ritter, Derby

Cathy Williams, Shelton

Deceased Board Emeritus

Helen Brady

Edward Brickett

Doris Clark

G. Bush Clark

Robert Fitzgerald

Margaret Gibbs

Jeanette LaMacchia

Mary Mycek

Charlotte McLean

John D. Poole

Arthur Tidmarsh

Eve Turaj

Jeremiah "Jerry" Vartelas

Lois Young